Pages

Review: The Ward


Book Title: The Ward
Author: Jordana Frankel
Genre(s): YA, Dystopia
Publisher: Harper Collins 
Publication date: April 30, 2013
Source: finished copy from the publisher, Thanks Sarah!
Get a copy: Amazon | TBD
My rating: 4/5 quills
Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.
REVIEW


The synopsis was the first thing that caught my attention. It's intriguing and sort of refreshing for me so I immediately requested a copy of it from the publisher. And thankfully I was given the opportunity to read it. Oh hail the universe! :D


Ren is our kick-ass racer who standout in The Ward because she's the only woman who races. She does daredevil acts to supply medicine for her adoptive sister who is inflicted by the HBNC (Hyper Basilic Neoplasma Contagion, a virus spreading  that continually kills the people in The Ward) who is now on the verge of dying. She might be cold and fierce in the outside but she also has her girly side. I pictured her to be the unfeeling and don't-care-about-boys type of girl but I was wrong! Being inside her head and reading her thoughts about Derek was surprising, in a good way. She's feeling all gooey about him that I just can't help the smile slowly forming in my face. I didn't know she had it in her! Despite her feeling gooey she doesn't show it, which makes the romance in the book more interesting. Ren can be cocky and over confident about her skills in mobile racing but I can see her enthusiasm and devotion in racing. It's all because of Aven, her adoptive sister. Aven made Ren stronger yet vulnerable at the same time. She'll risk anything, even going against the government, just for her to keep living. 

Ren is working in the government to find The Fountain of Youth but afterwards used as an instrument by two opposing parties, The Government and the Tentai. She's naive as to what is happening between the two and as to what might happen when her actions go overboard. I liked the twists in the book. It felt like I know this is going to happen and it eventually happened but there's a freaking twist to it!


The first few chapters were too descriptive for my liking that I immediately stopped reading it. But after a few days of convincing myself I finally gave in and was greatly riveted by the story that I didn't know I finished it within a couple of hours!



The idea of the Fountain of Youth making you immortal is way too far-fetched. A spring water that cures the HBNC? That I can take but making you immortal? Puh-lease! I'm not convinced!The world-building wasn't greatly structured. I was confused and still am as to how the hell that water made a human immortal. Well, there were explanations said but I'm still not convinced. So that left me anxious to read the next book. 

A refreshing debut novel, The Ward by Jordana Frankel is the right book for you to read when you're in for a great adrenaline filled story. It's fast-paced and riveting! 

Paper Press

Paper Press is devoted to sharing inner thoughts about a book recently read or read before. It serves readers a variety of fun activities, like giveaways, author interviews, fangirl moments, dicsussions and others.


Motto: Unleashing our inner fangirl through book reviews.

-ADMIN-

No comments:

Post a Comment

Instagram